Take Heart

take_heart

Confrontation is a hard thing for me.  Even if it is so much as a differing opinion about something that doesn’t really matter, I tend to want to cringe and shrink back into my shell.  I don’t want to try again, I just want to hide.  I tend to see confrontation as a stab to my ego, a personal insult.  For some reason this little voice inside says “They don’t think much of you, why else would they question you?”  I know in my head that’s a silly thing to think and I shouldn’t let things get to me, but sometimes, my heart believes in silly.

There are times when I run into confrontation while sharing my thoughts on the bible or about God, my passion.  And so when someone stands up to say something different, or just outright rejects my thoughts, I take it as personal rejection and hide.  I think “Ok, I’m done with this. I’m no good at this and I should just quit”.  I can just enjoy my relationship with God without any interaction with people… right?

Yet, every time I try to hide, God pushes me out again.  He won’t let me hide.  Because the reality is, you can’t hide light.   And you can’t live life alone.  We were created to need other people and God chooses to use us to reach them.  For whatever reason, He chose me.  Wretched, weak, inadequate me.  And I cannot say no to Him.

Regardless of why conflicts arise, they have a lesson to teach.  Sometimes it really is “Keep your mouth shut next time” or “Choose your words more wisely”.  But other times it may be that you need learn to step back, take a deep breath and trust.  Trust that God will find a way.  Trust that He will give you to right words to soothe, or the right weapons to fight back.  The point is, God is in control.  And He doesn’t want us to quit.  He never promised that we would not get hurt.  He did promise that He would never leave you or forsake you.  So be strong.  Be courageous. And take heart.

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you” (Deut. 31:6 ESV).

Leave a Reply

