Fill in the Blank

Here is some insight I gathered from my morning bible study:

“Therefore, if food makes my brother stumble, I will never eat meat, lest I make my brother stumble” (1 Cor. 8:13 NASB).

The church in Corinth was no different than today’s churches in that they still had petty squabbles over who was “right” and who was “wrong” on things that didn’t necessarily matter in the long run. Paul points out that who is “right” or “wrong” isn’t important, what IS important is whether your actions are causing your brother to stumble and are making his walk with God harder than necessary.

It seems we are always finding new things to squabble about in the Lord’s Church. Most of the time the topic of dissension is about tradition or other such topics as are unimportant to the “grand scheme of things”, namely salvation and what actually pleases God. Paul takes a great stance on this issue and introduces an eye-opening concept, we are not only responsible for our own walk with Christ, but we are responsible for our brother’s walk as well! If we are doing anything, anything at all, that causes our brother to stumble, even unintentionally, we seriously need to consider whether that action is truly necessary. If not, we need to stop it!

“…but whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to stumble, it would be better for him to have a heavy millstone hung around his neck, and to be drowned in the depth of the sea” (Matt. 18:6)

Let’s take Paul’s statement and fill in the blank “Therefore, if ______ makes my brother stumble, I will never ______, lest I make my brother stumble.”

Lord, may I never do anything to make my brother or sister stumble. I wish only to be an encouragement and a guide, never a stumbling block.

Leave a Reply

